About Us

The MRFPD was formed as a special district under the California codes in 1920, and is the oldest fire district in Sonoma County. Between about 1885 and 1920 (early records are sparse), it served Monte Rio as a volunteer fire company.

As a Special District, the MRFPD is a government agency with five directors elected by the voters residing within the District. The current board consists of Ken Wikle, President, Paul Casini, Vice President, Dan Fein, Treasurer, Emil Alberigi and Jim Kokalis. The board meets the second Tuesday of each month at 6:00 pm at the Monte Rio Community Center, 20488 Hwy 116, Monte Rio, CA 95462. Agendas are posted at fire headquarter and on this website.

The Monte Rio Fire Services Foundation is a Section 501(c)(3) qualified charity jointly governed by the Monte Rio Volunteer Firefighters Association and the MRFPD board of directors. It exists to lend support to the MRFPD and provide emergency services-related education to the public. Donations to the Foundation are tax-deductible.

Make a Donation

Monte Rio Fire Department HistoryTaken in 1916, this is the earliest known photograph of the Monte Rio Volunteer Fire Department.

Regular Meeting
of the Board of Directors

Tuesday, December 10, 2013
Agenda TBD